Academy of Education and Training

The Education and Early Childhood Academy focuses on broad, transferable skills and stresses understanding and demonstration of the following elements of the Early Childhood Industry:

  • Child Growth and Development
  • Child Abuse and Neglect
  • Classroom Management
  • Understanding Developmentally Appropriate Practices – Preschool
  • Health, Safety, Nutrition and Environmental Issues
  • Behavioral Observations and Screening
  • Inclusion for Children with Disabilities
  • Childcare Rules and Regulations
  • Developing Curriculum
  • Preschool Appropriate Practices
  • Early Literacy

The Early Childhood Education Program is divided into four (4) levels:

Level 1: Students will learn the fundamentals of child development including understanding infants, toddlers, preschoolers, learning about the child care center, curriculum planning, and on the job skills.

Level 2: Students work to develop the skills necessary to work with young children in a preschool school setting. We develop these skills by planning and implementing activities with young children from ages 1-5. Introduction and testing of the 45 hours DCF (Department of Children & Families) competencies including Rules & Regulations, Health, Safety & Nutrition, Child Abuse & Neglect,.

Level 3: Students will again work with young children in a laboratory setting and continue to complete the 45 hour DCF competencies and exams that include Child Growth & Development, Behavior Observation & Screening, and Preschool Appropriate Practices. Students will start working on their teacher resource portfolio.

Level 4: Students will acquire competence in the areas of mentoring, developing the ability to motivate children and emphasis on professional development. Again, students will work with young children in a laboratory setting. Students will complete the online Early Literacy Module, their teaching resource portfolio, take the national certification test and be observed by a Child Development Associate (CDA) Specialist.